The Cuckoo’s Calling Timeline

Date

Chapter

What happened

8th January 2010   Lula Landry falls to her death.
_
17th March 2010   Photos are wiped off Lula’s laptop.
_
Sunday 28th March 2010 Part 1, Chapters 1 and 2 Cormoran and Charlotte break up; Strike walks across London to his office through the night. Matthew and Robin have dinner at a Thai restaurant. Matthew proposes to her at the Statue of Eros in Piccadilly Circus.
_
Monday 29th March 2010 Part 1, Chapters 2-6 Robin starts working for Strike as a temp. John Bristow comes to Strike as a client. Strike goes to the Tottenham for a few pints of Doom Bar.
_
Tuesday 30th March 2010 Part 1 Chapter 7 to Part 2 Chapter 2 Strike spends the early afternoon at ULU. Robin researches Lula Landry on the internet. Strike and Robin go for a walk to Kentigern Gardens. Strike shows off. That night, Robin and Matthew argue about Strike.
_
Friday 2nd April 2010 Part 2 Chapters 4-7 Strike goes to Charlotte’s flat to collect his few possessions. He interviews Derrick Wilson at the Phoenix Café in Brixton. Strike agrees to keep Robin on for another couple of weeks.
_
Saturday 3rd April 2010 Part 2 Chapter 8 Strike watches the Arsenal vs Spurs match. Lucy rings him. He does some paperwork.
_
Sunday 4th April 2010 Part 2 Chapter 9 Strike goes back to ULU to shower. He gets the Tube to Hammersmith Broadway, St Elmo’s Hostel for the Homeless.
_
Monday 5th April 2010 Part 2 Chapter 10 Strike goes to Barrack and Uzi, the night clubs, and then to meet Wardle at the Feathers, near Scotland Yard.
_
Tuesday 6th April 2010 Part 2 Chapter 11 Strike goes to Cipriani to interview Tansy Bestigui, in the presence of Ursula May and John Bristow.
_
Wednesday 7th April 2010 Part 3 Chapter 1 Starts to rain in London.
_
Thursday 8th April 2010    
_
Friday 9th April 2010 Part 3 Chapter 1 Robin wraps Jack’s birthday present. Robin attends the third of the week’s ‘proper’ interviews. Wardle sends Lula’s file and Strike goes through it.
_
Saturday 10th April 2010 Part 3 Chapter 2 Strike attends Jack’s birthday party at Lucy’s house. He uses their DVD player to watch the CCTV footage from the night Lula died.
_
Sunday 11th April 2010 Part 3 Chapter 3 Bristow calls Strike. Strike goes to ULU to shower.
_
Monday 12th April 2010 Part 3 Chapters 4-7 Strike and Robin go to Vashti, where Strike is impressed by her. Strike meets Bristow at the Serpentine Bar and Kitchen in Hyde Park. He later goes to Wong Kei to meet Spanner.
_
Tuesday 13th April 2010 Part 3 Chapters 8-10 Strike finds Rochelle at St Thomas’s. They go to McDonald’s. Lucy is at the office chatting with Robin when he gets back.
_
Wednesday 14th April 2010 Part 4 Chapter 1 Strike goes to ULU, then goes to meet Guy Some at his office.
_
Thursday 15th April 2010 Part 4 Chapter 2 Strike goes back to St Thomas’s to try and catch Rochelle again but is unsuccessful.
_
Friday 16th April 2010 Part 4 Chapters 2 and 3 Strike returns from Starbucks to find Spanner in the office. Strike and Robin go to Kentigern Gardens, as Freddie Bestigui is away.
_
Saturday 17th April 2010 Part 4 Chapter 4 Strike tells Gillespie over the phone to get off his fucking back.
_
Sunday 18th April 2010 Part 4 Chapter 4 Strike watches the news.
_
Monday 19th April 2010 Part 4 Chapters 4 and 5 Strike meets Marlene Higson at the Ordnance Arms in Canning Town. Robin tells Strike that Charlotte is engaged. Strike goes to the Tottenham and drinks 11 pints of Doom Bar before being rescued by Robin.
_
Tuesday 20th April 2010 Part 4 Chapters 6-8 Strike wakes up with a massive hangover and goes to ULU to shower and use the pool. Strike goes to the photoshoot to interview Ciara Porter and Bryony Radford. After Ciara takes him to the nightclub to meet Evan Duffield, the three of them go to Duffield’s place. Strike then goes to Ciara’s and sleeps with her.
_
Wednesday 21st April 2010 Part 4 Chapters 9-12 Robin and Strike discuss what they’ve been doing (but Strike withholds certain details from the previous night). Wardle rings Strike to tell him they’ve found a body in the Thames. Strike meets Wardle and Carver at the morgue, where he identifies Rochelle. Strike asks Graham Hardacre for a favour. Strike goes to Pinewood Studios to see Freddie Bestigui.
_
Thursday 22nd April 2010 Part 4 Chapters 13 Wardle calls Strike.
_
Sunday 25th April 2010   Strike and Robin attend Rochelle’s funeral.
_
Monday 26th April 2010 Part 4 Chapter 14, Part 5 Chapters 1 and 2 Strike goes to Chelsea to meet Yvette Bristow. Strike and Wardle meet in the Feathers. Bristow shows up at the office. Strike is taken to hospital.
_
10 days later, 6th May 2010 Epilogue Strike meets Jonah Agyeman in the Tottenham.